1. Welcome to The Salty Box, a forum to discuss everything related to Marine & Reef Fish keeping in a friendly surrounding.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register to be able to join in discussions with others.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon

    Dismiss Notice

Featured SPS Woes

Discussion in 'Help and Advice' started by [email protected], Apr 26, 2013.

  1. StarfishEnterprise

    StarfishEnterprise Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    15,166
    Likes Received:
    1
    will do that thanks

    Just been looking for a probe on Ebay and there not cheap!
     
  2. PaulTys

    PaulTys Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,316
    Likes Received:
    4
    Sorry GED. I may be wrong, but to me if your tank pH is 8, then its 8, regardless of your reactor
     
  3. Matt@Epo

    [email protected] Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    8,244
    Likes Received:
    0
    [MENTION=18127]StarfishEnterprise[/MENTION] wow, that's a low orp. With those millivolts your whole tank would be a denitrifying playground Hysterical
    [MENTION=17474]Gedmin[/MENTION]. I would have to agree with Paul. Your calc reactor hasn't been running right but you would have seen the impact on the tank calc, ph and dkh. Your tests have been pretty stable though. I would expect that you were mushing the media and you did pretty well getting 33 dkh effluent.
     
  4. Whipitup

    Whipitup Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    12,039
    Likes Received:
    2
    I really hope you've sussed out the problem Ged.
     
  5. Whipitup

    Whipitup Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    12,039
    Likes Received:
    2
    Because the flow through the reactor was too fast - didnt have time to disolve the media even though the PH was so low.

    Probably.
     
  6. StarfishEnterprise

    StarfishEnterprise Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    15,166
    Likes Received:
    1
    I bought the unit second hand from classifieds a few months back. Never got round to using it as i had to get calibration fluid and now iv put got it running im guessin i bought a dud unit or needs a new probe.
    Will prob order a new unit looking at price you can get a twin probe controller Orp/ph for £78 delivered on Ebay.
     
  7. Matt@Epo

    [email protected] Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    8,244
    Likes Received:
    0
    ...or you could run the whole tank as a nitrate reactor. Denitrification occurs at -173mv iirc so you're not too far off Hysterical
     
  8. StarfishEnterprise

    StarfishEnterprise Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    15,166
    Likes Received:
    1
    Lol theres no fish in there anyways! And after last nights spawning issues the water was a reyt cest pit!
     
  9. screwloose

    screwloose Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    18,946
    Likes Received:
    1
    well out of guilt did a couple of tests here too :)


    mg 1440
    cal 390
    dkh 9.3

    n03,,still 50-100, but not as dark :)
     
  10. tyger

    tyger Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    5,959
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ha Ha you just done a 80% water change !!!!!!
     
  11. screwloose

    screwloose Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    18,946
    Likes Received:
    1
    nah did a pint yesterday when Ged had been ;)


    I may need to phase back a bit on the bicarb,,, doh !!!
     
  12. StarfishEnterprise

    StarfishEnterprise Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    15,166
    Likes Received:
    1
    Po4? :whistling:
     
  13. ged@fishnochips

    [email protected] Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    11,630
    Likes Received:
    2
    His water changes are 2 pints per week, or however many frags he gives me.
     
  14. screwloose

    screwloose Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    18,946
    Likes Received:
    1
    dunno,,my kit wont go that high..i think was 1.2 last week
     
  15. ged@fishnochips

    [email protected] Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    11,630
    Likes Received:
    2
    So I did a KH test yesterday when I took the CR offline, and it was 8.6

    Just done one now and it is 7.7 - The biggest drop in 24 hours ever recorded on this tank lol

    Just buffering up again now, but it looks like the CR was keeping up with the demand prior to taking it off.
     
  16. Rick27

    Rick27 Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    I realise this thread is nearly a year old but just wondering if the problem ever got sorted? Im having similar problems in my tank and just can't work out why
     
  17. ged@fishnochips

    [email protected] Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    11,630
    Likes Received:
    2
    Piece of copper wire in the sump mate.
     
  18. Rick27

    Rick27 Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    It was as simple as that? How big was the piece of wire?

    Did all your SPS start to thrive straight after this was removed?
     
  19. ged@fishnochips

    [email protected] Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    11,630
    Likes Received:
    2
    Only explanation. It was a couple of inches long. No problem with sps since. However I only found the wire once dismantling the old tank. Desperation set in lol
     
  20. Rick27

    Rick27 Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    So you decided to tear the system down because of this problem? How come the poly filter or tests didn't show copper though? Sorry for all the questions!
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice