1. Welcome to The Salty Box, a forum to discuss everything related to Marine & Reef Fish keeping in a friendly surrounding.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register to be able to join in discussions with others.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon

    Dismiss Notice

Featured Should my RO be reading 0 TDS

Discussion in 'Help and Advice' started by richard, Jun 18, 2011.

  1. richard

    richard Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Been buying ro from various shops for a while but never thought about asking what the TDS reading was.

    I asked at one shop today and it the guy told me there's is 6.7

    I always thought you should be getting 0 TDS, is that not right ?

    The guy seemed to know what he was talking about, he showed me the ro unit, and said they changed the filters when the tds goes over 10.

    He also says that this area as bad tap water, so he reckons that the other shops will have similar readings.

    I have been suffering from a lot of algae, could this be the problem ?
     
  2. Funkymonkey

    Funkymonkey Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    12,933
    Likes Received:
    2
    Could be. My TDS pen reads like this "000" so I dont get any decimals, dont know if others do? 6.7 would be 067 on mine, TDS 67.

    I know one shop I use to get RO from were happy with anything under around 15ppm though they did supply it at 2ppm. I've now got my own RO unit much easier and zero
     
  3. LittleOcean

    LittleOcean Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8,419
    Likes Received:
    3
    Any tds left over from a correctly working membrane should be harmless carbon based contaminants. This normally has no bad effects just providing extra food for bacteria. If in doubt tho most people like to start with 0 tds.
     
  4. Funkymonkey

    Funkymonkey Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    12,933
    Likes Received:
    2
    didnt know that, whats the point of using DI then, is it just incase the membrane isnt performing?
     
  5. richard

    richard Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for that, not so bad then.
     
  6. coyote0_14

    coyote0_14 Registered

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    most if not all ro systems without a di pod will read above 0, di resin is a final scrubber to take it down to 0, if you do have a di pod fitted and it's above 0 then before you replace the resin give the pod a shake just in case your water has tracked through the resin then check again.
     
  7. LittleOcean

    LittleOcean Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8,419
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes mate, good safety backup and some don't want to add any more food source carbon or otherwise . I think Rabbut detailed some of this info in his guide.
     
  8. Funkymonkey

    Funkymonkey Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    12,933
    Likes Received:
    2
    will have a look, cheers Tom Big Thumbs Up
     
  9. richard

    richard Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    877
    Likes Received:
    0
    I get my water from the lfs, so i'm guessing they don't have the DI part, is there anything i can do manually with DI resin at home to filter it without getting an ro unit ?
     
  10. LittleOcean

    LittleOcean Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8,419
    Likes Received:
    3
    As above tho, I'm not familiar with any tds meter reading decimal points. So make sure its not 67 !
     
  11. LittleOcean

    LittleOcean Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8,419
    Likes Received:
    3
    You could use a small pump and pump it thru a di pod.
     
  12. LittleOcean

    LittleOcean Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8,419
    Likes Received:
    3
    Is that joke not old yet? ;-)

    Cheers TOBY
     
  13. richard

    richard Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ye thats what I was thinking, a small pump through a di pod, will have a look into that.
     
  14. LittleOcean

    LittleOcean Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8,419
    Likes Received:
    3
    Prob something like a mini mouse siccie pump.. (think its called that)

    I have a Di pod in stock ;-)
     
  15. richard

    richard Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    877
    Likes Received:
    0
    So it would be as easy as that then, would the water only need to go through the pod once ?

    Do you sell tds meters as well ?

    And how much and what size is the di pod ?

    Thanks
     
  16. LittleOcean

    LittleOcean Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8,419
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes mate, got a few different ones.
    The di pod I have holds about 800ml of resin. It comes full, :£10 at the mo,

    It will only need to pass thru the Di once . And should last a while. May need to try a few adapters etc to fit to a small pump. The flow may need to be T'd off to ensure its not too quick.
     
  17. richard

    richard Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, what's the ideal speed of flow to go through one, the mimouse pumps can go from 30ltr to 300ltr per hour so one of them should be suitable.

    Any idea where I can get the fittings from ?
     
  18. richard

    richard Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would a reactor filled with DI resin do the same job, as I have a spare reactor ?
     
  19. LittleOcean

    LittleOcean Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8,419
    Likes Received:
    3
    Possibly, you'll need to ensure the resin can't get into the water but if the flow is slow enough I don't see why not.

    With the mimouse pump I'm sure I can cone up with something that'll fit.

    With the flow rate I've never tried it but if its too quick I can see the water tracking past the resin.
     
  20. richard

    richard Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    877
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you can find something to ft the mimouse pump to the di pod I'll have one.

    Do you stock the mimouse pumps as I was looking to get one anyway for my filter.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice