1. Welcome to The Salty Box, a forum to discuss everything related to Marine & Reef Fish keeping in a friendly surrounding.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register to be able to join in discussions with others.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon

    Dismiss Notice

Running 2 Items On 1 Pump

Discussion in 'Reefs' started by phil hunter, Jul 25, 2018.

  1. phil hunter

    phil hunter Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hello can anyone advise me if it's possible to run a media reactor ( bulk reef supply delux ) and a bio pellet reactor ( V2 bio pellet reactor) off the same pump ( reef pump 4000 ) ? I want to connect the pump to one of them then pipe it to the other inline then out into the sump again . the reason being as short of space for 2 smaller pumps to run each item individualy . the pump LPH can be controlled and the media reactor can via a valve on the inlet pipe .
    any help and advice greatly appreciated Phil
     
  2. jim_fitz

    jim_fitz Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,999
    Likes Received:
    136
    ive often thought about doing this
    what would you have in both reactors ?
     
  3. phil hunter

    phil hunter Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    2
    calcium pellets in one and maybe some phosphate in the other but open to suggestions
     
  4. jim_fitz

    jim_fitz Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,999
    Likes Received:
    136
    my concern was that one needed more flow than the other
    and fear that carbon would break down too easily
    i use bio pellets in one and phosphate remover in the other

    could you t off from your pump if big enough ? (actually a Y connection would be better than a T)
     
  5. phil hunter

    phil hunter Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    2
    yes can do that as I haven't plumbed either in yet as just starting the tank up . as you've mentioned my main worry is not getting the flow correct from a powerful pump (4000LPH) to both reactors so maybe best using 2 1000LPH pumps instead to be on the safe side
     
  6. jim_fitz

    jim_fitz Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,999
    Likes Received:
    136
    if you use one pump and it fails you loose both reactors

    thats another downside to just using one
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice