1. Welcome to The Salty Box, a forum to discuss everything related to Marine & Reef Fish keeping in a friendly surrounding.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register to be able to join in discussions with others.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon

    Dismiss Notice

Nitrates In Ro Water

Discussion in 'Chemistry' started by NoK3, Feb 5, 2019.

  1. NoK3

    NoK3 Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Checked my water parameters and surprised to see Nitrates slightly higher than normal at 3ppm. Then out of curiosity used the Red Sea in the high reading test and wow! Nitrates off the scale. Then checked the RO water, blimey, the same. So I’ve been ATO with very high nitrate RO water.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  2. jim_fitz

    jim_fitz Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,871
    Likes Received:
    107
    are you producing your own ?
    do you use a TDS meter ?
     
  3. NoK3

    NoK3 Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    I buy it from a LFS without issue then but two weeks ago I changed to a different one near Leicester. I don’t have the facility to do my own.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  4. jim_fitz

    jim_fitz Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,871
    Likes Received:
    107
    might be worth changing back if you can
     
    NoK3 likes this.
  5. NoK3

    NoK3 Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    I’ll get some tomorrow


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  6. jim_fitz

    jim_fitz Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,871
    Likes Received:
    107
    just re-read your O P

    ive no idea if the red sea test kit is suitable for non salted water ??

    thinking out load a bit there
     
  7. NoK3

    NoK3 Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG] it uses 15ml of RO water and 1ml of aquarium for the high reading.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  8. jim_fitz

    jim_fitz Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,871
    Likes Received:
    107
    So you have tested your tank water to get the high reading

    I would suggest getting a fresh water test kit for your ro water

    Or if you are obsessive
    You can do an icp test on it
    I’ve done that once and it’s money well spent
     
  9. NoK3

    NoK3 Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    The tank is between 2 & 3 so no issue there. Just surprised to see the RO so high.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  10. NoK3

    NoK3 Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another batch of RO purchased and minimal nitrates using 15ml RO and 1ml tank water. Clearly the RO previously purchased has higher than normal Nitrates.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  11. jim_fitz

    jim_fitz Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,871
    Likes Received:
    107
    thats good to hear
     
  12. NoK3

    NoK3 Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bizarrely my tank has responded well given Nitrates were non existent. ZOAs responded to higher Nitrates but concerned that I was dosing high Nitrates and that at some point they could be too high.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  13. jim_fitz

    jim_fitz Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,871
    Likes Received:
    107
    zoas will prefer dirtier water
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice