1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to The Salty Box, a forum to discuss everything related to Marine & Reef Fish keeping in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to be able to join in discussions with others.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon

Dismiss Notice

Newbie With No Clue But Bucket Loads Of Hope

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Dclark82, Dec 4, 2017 at 12:07 PM.

1. Dclark82

Dclark82 Registered

Hi everyone,

Apologies in advance for the long post.

Despite registering with the site back in 2012, I'm still considering myself a newbie as I've been dipping in and out of the hobby for a few years now - as will be noted from the number of messages I've posted to date.

I have however recently moved house (July 2017), and in doing so have bought a larger tank in the hope of establishing a Marine tank. :) My past experience has been completely fresh water (100L tank) and I'm dreading the change to Marine - so much so that I've had an empty tank for 6 months now.

My local garden center were selling off an ex-display tank with a mishmash of pipe work. So now, I am the proud owner of an AquaReef 275 with sump (which I think is about 30L). Tank dimensions being 70x70x70.

The tank came with a protein skimmer, 4x T5 Lights, and 2x Heaters. I've additional bought;

- Return Pump (Reef-Pump DC Aquarium Pump 4000)
    - Filter sock
    - Refractometer

If I'm honest, I'm feeling a little overwhelmed with next steps and the options available to me. I would be grateful for advice on what I do next. Here's what I think I need to undertake:

1. Buy egg-crate to place on base of tank.
    2. Buy wave maker fan - need to decide what would be an appropriate fan. Do I need one or two?
    3. Replace sump bio-balls (which came with tank). But not sure what to replace with, I've been told I could use Live rock.