• Welcome to The Salty Box, a forum to discuss everything related to Marine & Reef Fish keeping in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to be able to join in discussions with others.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon

New member, converting fluval lido 200 to marine

donaldson

Registered
well I suppose first thing first, Hi my name is Jane and as title suggest I am converting my tropical tank into marine. I have been a tropical fish keeper for 7 years and I also maintain the marine system where I used to work for a year. It was doing the work with the marine system that gave me the bug, and have been itching to have my own system. I am in no rush as being a veterinary nursing student I am very busy with my nose in a book or am working.

Guessing your bored about hearing about me an want to know what i plan to do with my marine conversion.

Plan is to
  • buy in dried reef rock, yes I know the pro and cons to doing it this way, sadly money is a big factor when asking my partner to let me change our tank to marine.
  • Rehome current fish to a lovely friend of my and move tank to new position, as my setup I want is to view the tank from 3 sides not the current view from the front only.
  • Take forever to scape rock in tank to get it perfect, because once water in i don't plan to move it again.
  • Buy skimmer, i am currently thinking a Tunze 9004
  • Replace T5 tropical bulb to marine, not sure which though I do want corals so any suggestion here would be great, thanks.
  • Buy substrate debating between 3mm and 5mm coral substrate. oh and buy new gravel syphon as i am fully planted right now and don't need one.
  • Fill with water and begin the run of daily water testing.
  • For water movement I will be using my FX6 empty to minimise the effect of nitrate build up, and the system can be easily be flushed with it flush valve each week.