1. Welcome to The Salty Box, a forum to discuss everything related to Marine & Reef Fish keeping in a friendly surrounding.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register to be able to join in discussions with others.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon

    Dismiss Notice

Frozen Ro Unit = Disaster - Help Please

Discussion in 'Help and Advice' started by Hodgy_2k5, Mar 6, 2018.

  1. Hodgy_2k5

    Hodgy_2k5 Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    4
    Evening All,

    Hopefully Littleocean will be able to help me out with this one. Stupidly with all the cold weather last week, I didnt venture out to the shed to disconnect and drain some of the water off my RO System. DOH!!

    As a result, the water inside has frozen and from what I can tell has destroyed one of my chambers on the 4stage RO-MAN system. Ideally if not to expensive, I'd like to replace the one broken section and be back up and running. But dependant on cost, I may replace the unit as the filters need changing as well.

    To provide all the information this is the RO-MAN Professional 50 Gallon system from 2009.
     
  2. Hodgy_2k5

    Hodgy_2k5 Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    4
  3. doug_amanda

    doug_amanda Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,923
    Likes Received:
    113
    I’m sure Toby @LittleOcean will be able to help sort that out for you,, like you said it may be a good idea to replace all the filters while your at it,, not sure if they’d be fully efficient after they’ve been frozen.
     
    LittleOcean likes this.
  4. Hodgy_2k5

    Hodgy_2k5 Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    4
    Any news on this one as I’m running out of water so going to be looking at buying soon
     
  5. LittleOcean

    LittleOcean Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8,419
    Likes Received:
    3
    sorry missed the mention, yes i think the membrane will be goosed so need to ideally replace all filters , replacing that canister should be ok if you you can find the same design, ie the height of the fitting needs to match to get it to replace and fit into the next canister . unfortunately i’m out of canisters but ill have a look at the units i have in to see if one has the same type of fitting and butcher it for you
     
    doug_amanda likes this.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice