1. Welcome to The Salty Box, a forum to discuss everything related to Marine & Reef Fish keeping in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to be able to join in discussions with others.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon

Dismiss Notice

Featured Fish Dying

Discussion in 'Help and Advice' started by afeltham, May 12, 2018.

1. afeltham

afeltham Registered

Hello,

I'm at a loss. I'm still relatively new to this and so not really sure what is going on! My tank is about 9 months old, generally been good although did go through a period a while back where my corals started to look really bad. Am through that now and thought i was doing well but in the last few weeks i've lost 4 fish. I've checked all the things i think i should be checking and aside from Nitrate being 12ppm ( which i didn't think was too bad ) i can't spot what could be wrong.

Rather than be told what to do, as i'm learning i'd love to hear peoples thought process about what could be going on so that if it happens again i'll know what / why / how.

So, what would you be looking for? What would you test first? What would you be looking out for?

I have a 200L tank - 2 clown fish, 2 fire shrimps, 3 turbo snails, 3 narcissus snails and 4 yellow tail chromis, 1 chalk goby.

Help!

2. jim_fitz

jim_fitz Admin Staff Member

nitrate of 12 for fish is not a problem at all

so things i would consider
    what type of fish died
    what is there natural life span
    had i added anything new recently
    anything obvious on the corpses
    any chance a predator could havesneaked in on some live rock
    is the temperature ok (probably if everything else looks ok)
    where they eating ok
    how long have you had them

afeltham likes this.
  3. penzo

penzo Registered

If your losing fish,the first thing I'd be checking is ammonia and nitrite.

afeltham likes this.
  4. afeltham

afeltham Registered

Great, thanks for these replies... especially quickly.