1. Welcome to The Salty Box, a forum to discuss everything related to Marine & Reef Fish keeping in a friendly surrounding.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register to be able to join in discussions with others.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon

    Dismiss Notice

Featured DI resin change

Discussion in 'Help and Advice' started by diver 807, Aug 16, 2012.

  1. diver 807

    diver 807 Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    7,244
    Likes Received:
    2
    when do you guys change your di resin,ie what reading
     
  2. Neil

    Neil Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    16,577
    Likes Received:
    4
    i change mine when it goes from 0 to 1
     
  3. diver 807

    diver 807 Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    7,244
    Likes Received:
    2
    as I do ,but Iv'e read elsewhere that some go to 10 which I feel is asking for algae problems
     
  4. LittleOcean

    LittleOcean Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8,419
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yep, if you're using resin you may as well keep it at 0, or not bother as when its exhausted it'll creep up pretty quick.

    Always check that the resin is tight as well ;-)
     
  5. reefloat

    reefloat Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8,120
    Likes Received:
    18
    whilst on the subject, how do you change it, removed the cap and appears to be sealed in with like a highly compressed floss?
     
  6. LittleOcean

    LittleOcean Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8,419
    Likes Received:
    3
    There should be a floss cap which comes out in one piece, it stops the resin running out with the water..
     
  7. Neil

    Neil Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    16,577
    Likes Received:
    4
    What DI unit have you got (pic may help)
     
  8. reefloat

    reefloat Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8,120
    Likes Received:
    18
    so just prise it off with point of a knife?
     
  9. LittleOcean

    LittleOcean Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8,419
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yerp, should come out easily enough..

    When putting resin back in mix some ro water with it to remove the air pockets,
     
  10. Elkaa

    Elkaa Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    4,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Works a treat!
     
  11. diver 807

    diver 807 Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    7,244
    Likes Received:
    2
    still not getting your answers as to what reading you change it
     
  12. LittleOcean

    LittleOcean Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8,419
    Likes Received:
    3
    Anything above 0
     
  13. diver 807

    diver 807 Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    7,244
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gordon you were asking how to change di resin and got me wondering about your algae problem.how long have you had your ro unit and when did you last change your di resin,might be a daft question but just a thought
     
  14. reefloat

    reefloat Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8,120
    Likes Received:
    18
    2 or 3 years, never have changed the resin but readings always been 0, so you think it wants changing?
     
  15. bigguy

    bigguy Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3,748
    Likes Received:
    1
    Might have a point depends on how ofter you change the filters and when was the last time you calibrated the unit that reports as 0 i bought some fluid off ebay to test my hand held so i can check the inline meter i have ;)
     
  16. reefloat

    reefloat Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8,120
    Likes Received:
    18
    just done a phosphate test on a fresh batch of seawater i mixed yesterday and 0 reading so puts that out the window unfortunately - pity

    correction, very slight reading about 0.03
     
  17. Clearwater

    Clearwater Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    13,435
    Likes Received:
    2
    thats the upper limit for Po4
     
  18. Keithw

    Keithw Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    I change mine when it starts to flicker on to 1,

    I generally get aroung 700litres out of it before it is exhausted,

    Thats with 650ml of colour change resin,

    :smile:
     
  19. reefloat

    reefloat Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8,120
    Likes Received:
    18
    what 0.03!!!! but surely that cannot result in a tank reading of .5 or above?
    so you are saying a fresh mix should be zero, and could this be explained by the resin?
     
  20. Clearwater

    Clearwater Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    13,435
    Likes Received:
    2
    When I have RO at 0 TDS and do a salt mix the Po4 is 0 on D&D

    when my tank reaches 0.03 I crop the Cheato so it can grow more

    if the reading is above 0.03 I start to use GFO in a reactor, which isn't that often
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice