1. Welcome to The Salty Box, a forum to discuss everything related to Marine & Reef Fish keeping in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to be able to join in discussions with others.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon

Dismiss Notice

Clown Fish

Discussion in 'Help and Advice' started by afeltham, Aug 19, 2017.

1. afeltham

afeltham Registered

So, I'm new to this and I want to check things are okay with my new fish. I'm probably being paranoid but rather be that way than have unhappy fish.

Rather than bias the replies though by telling you what mine are doing I'm keen to understand what yours are doing to compare it with what I'm seeing.

So, for those of you that have clown fish...

How active are they?
    Where are they normally in relation to the top of the tank?
    Does water flow affect them?
    What is their normal behaviour?

Sorry to be vague but getting two clown fish today has been a dream come true and want to make sure they are okay.

Thanks in advance. A.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2. doug_amanda

doug_amanda Admin Staff Member

Difficult one to answer as different types can and do act differently, the pair I have are true percs, they're normally quick to find a home either a nem or toadstool if ones provided. When I first got them they spent the first couple of nights at the top front corner of the tank until they settled .(They're resting in the anemone now) Tank bread clowns can be slow at finding a home,, if ever,,and spend most nights at the top in a corner.
    Yes flow affects them, just like any reef fish they like to spend the night resting, not fighting flow.

Why, what are yours doing?

3. afeltham

afeltham Registered

You've done great. Thank you.