1. Welcome to The Salty Box, a forum to discuss everything related to Marine & Reef Fish keeping in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to be able to join in discussions with others.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon

Dismiss Notice

Featured Byrdie's Boyu TL550 - Total Noob jump in any time

Discussion in 'Medium Tanks (31-100gal)' started by Byrdie, Mar 14, 2012.

1. Byrdie

Byrdie Registered

Hi everyone,

After reading a few different threads on here I made my mind up to buy a Boyu TL550, there were a few reason but one of the main ones is that I can make good mods to it in future if I want to, I would of loved a much bigger tank but I can't keep it as I am doing this myself, and the nano tanks that I was looking at was a bit too small to accommodate both fish and corals, so I compromised :-d

I may get a nano in the future for my bed room as I spend a lot of time in there and I think that a small one would fit nicely on my bedside table - but that is for the future.

I haven't taken any pics of it as yet as there is only salt water in there and we all know how interesting that is :lol:

I need to get lr for Sunday and I have order some live sand for the bottom, also just ordered a wave make 3000 lph and I will get another one that is much smaller for the bottom/back of the tank soon.

I read on other threads that it is best to ditch the guts of the filter system and replace with lr rubble and phosphate, just wondering if I need to get some carbon in there as well as I can't see any sort of carbon filter in there.

I am not sure if I have too much water in the tank :whistling: only the weir at the back is the same level as the water in the front of the tank and I am not sure if this is right??

Any comments/questions/observations is welcome

2. PaulM

PaulM New Member Forum Support

From a fellow Boyu 550 owner it's good to have you on here and it'll be interesting to see this develop.