Funkies New Posts Button Todays Posts Private Messages Main Forum
Funkies New Posts Button Subscribed Threads

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    phil979's Avatar
    phil979 is offline Copepod
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    radcliffe,manchester
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default phosphate / nitrate reactor

    hi i do not want to hang on the side of my tank and i do not have a sump. but would like to run a reactor underneath my tank in a cupboard
    is it possible to
    1 plumb one up in series to a fluval 406 external filter on the return side
    2 gravity feed the reactor and pump it back into the tank
    3 run a pipe from the tank to a pump into the reactor and return to tank

    any help or advice would be very grateful

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Earby
    Posts
    13,492
    Thanks
    103
    Thanked 428 Times in 425 Posts
    Mentioned
    365 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: phosphate / nitrate reactor

    What is it you wish to run in the reactor?

  3. #3
    phil979's Avatar
    phil979 is offline Copepod
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    radcliffe,manchester
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: phosphate / nitrate reactor

    not thought that far yet lol, i would like to reduce my phosphates and nitrates so was thinink something like rowaphos,and them pearls but really not sure any advice welcome

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Earby
    Posts
    13,492
    Thanks
    103
    Thanked 428 Times in 425 Posts
    Mentioned
    365 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: phosphate / nitrate reactor

    Simple reason for asking was that the flow many be to much if you plumbed it inline from an external filter.

    If you are using an external filter i would look to find suitable media to place inside this with out the need for a reactor.

  5. #5
    phil979's Avatar
    phil979 is offline Copepod
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    radcliffe,manchester
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: phosphate / nitrate reactor

    the filter has a built in tap/lever to increase/decrease pressure so was hoping to regulate that way or even put in a t piece and regulate that way and any excess pressure would still return to the tank. it is mostly my phosphate that are high i am running rowaphos in my external filter already and in a small internal filter but still struggle to reduce it any lower

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Earby
    Posts
    13,492
    Thanks
    103
    Thanked 428 Times in 425 Posts
    Mentioned
    365 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: phosphate / nitrate reactor

    The filters taps are usually for closing the pipe to clean the filter not to control flow, but i could be wrong i dont use externals and im not really a fan. I think though that you will be making a lot of work for yourself for little return.
    If your running rowaphos what is your Po4 reading and when did you change it? If you have high Po4 it can only absorb so much so once its exhausted you will need to replace it more often.
    Have you got readings for your Po4 do you keep track?

  7. #7
    FmJames is offline Fish Health Advisor
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    532
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: phosphate / nitrate reactor

    yes you can but the fluval series advice is not to lower the tap past half way, it causes too much back pressure.

    The flow at 50% on a fluval 205,305,405 might be too much for rowaphos media, bio peals not sure.

  8. #8
    phil979's Avatar
    phil979 is offline Copepod
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    radcliffe,manchester
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: phosphate / nitrate reactor

    just been sold some new phosphate remover from abyss who claims it is twice as powerfull as rowaphos,so i will try that 1st as it doesnt sound like my idea is a good one,many thanks for your suport

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Earby
    Posts
    13,492
    Thanks
    103
    Thanked 428 Times in 425 Posts
    Mentioned
    365 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: phosphate / nitrate reactor

    Whats this powerful po4 remover?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •